Alumni Events

Upcoming Alumni Events

2017 Alumni Celebration A Great Success!

Thanks to all who participated in and supported our Alumni & Friends Celebration held on April 27, 2017 at the UIC Student Center East and sponsored by the JACSW Alumni Board.

Over 70 alumni and friends joined together for an enjoyable evening. Friendships were renewed and new colleagues connected while listening to the sounds of a talented UIC student musical trio and munching on delectable hors d’oeuvres during an opening reception:

JACSW Alumni Celebration 2017JACSW Alumni Celebration 2017JACSW Alumni Celebration 2017

The evening continued with dessert and a program that included presentations by Dean Creasie Finney Hairston:
JACSW Alumni Celebration 2017

Dr. Robert A. Barish, UIC Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs:
JACSW Alumni Celebration 2017

and our guest speaker, Cook County State’s Attorney, Kimberly Foxx. She spoke about the profound impact social workers had on her work as a supervisor in felony juvenile courtrooms in the Cook County State’s Attorney Office and as guardian ad litem in the Cook County Public Guardian’s Office, advocating for children navigating the child welfare system. She said social workers also taught her about the importance of community when working for reform in the criminal justice system.
JACSW Alumni Celebration 2017

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of three awards. Kimberly Foxx received the inaugural Jane Addams Social Justice Ally Award:
JACSW Alumni Celebration 2017

Alumni honored were Randy A. Fisher, MSW ’73, LCSW with The Jane Addams Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award:
JACSW Alumni Celebration 2017

and Trevaughn Davis-Neal, MSW ’11, LCSW with The Jane Addams Rising Alumni Award.
JACSW Alumni Celebration 2017

And, to cap off the evening, the Alumni Association presented Dean Hairston with a $1,000 check to the Jane Addams College of Social Work Scholarship Fund:
JACSW Alumni Celebration 2017

Donald J. Dew, MSW ’80 and Miller R. Anderson, MSW ’84 served as co-chairs of the event and led a committee of dedicated alumni volunteers and alumni board members.


Supporting Sponsor
UI Health logo

Advocate Sponsors

Faith Johnson Bonecutter, MSW ’82

Dr. Glenda Dewberry Rooney, MSW ’76

Friend Sponsors

Roseann Adams, MSW ‘91

Bessie Akuamoah, MSW ’81

Miller R. Anderson, MSW ‘84

Susie Bohun, MSW ‘04

Donald J. Dew, MSW ‘80

Linda C. Hussey, MSW ‘87

Dr. Terry Solomon, MSW ’77

Cynthia C. Sykes, MSW ’82

Elizabeth Tumiel, MSW ‘07


Celebration Co-Chairs
Miller R. Anderson, Vice President*, MSW ‘84
Donald J. Dew, MSW ‘80

Fatimah Abidemi Abioye*, Student Government Liaison
Bessie Akuamoah, MSW ‘81
Joseluis Avalos*, BSW ’00, MSW ‘03
Susie Bohun*, BSW ‘03, MSW ‘04
Jacquelyn M. Bonavia*, Director of Advancement
Faith Johnson Bonecutter*, MSW ’82, Faculty Liaison
Kenya Butts*, MSW ‘10
Barbara Coats*, Faculty Liaison
Dr. Carol Goldbaum, PhD ‘88
Gary Kenzer, Secretary*, MSW ‘84
Nicole Milano, Treasurer*, BSW ‘00, MSW ‘01
Jenna Reisch, MSW ‘12
Judith Rocha, President*, BSW ‘01, MSW ‘05
Joel L. Rubin*, MSW ‘83
Dr. Terry Solomon, MSW ‘77
Cynthia C. Sykes, MSW ‘82
Elizabeth Tumiel, MSW ‘07

*Alumni Board Member/Officer

(Visited 412 times, 1 visits today)